Return to the Land of the Rising Sun

It’s been a while since I last blogged here but I’m resurrecting it as I’m returning to my adopted home and looking forward to sharing my travels again.

It’s surreal that it’s only been 10 months since I’ve left Osaka. I’ve enjoyed being in Sydney again but I have been dying to get back to Japan!

To me, this trip is a ‘best of Japan’ holiday as I’ll be going all over the country. I’ll be starting in Tokyo then heading west to Kyushu, which I didn’t get to visit during my exchange, and afterwards I’ll be going to Hiroshima to spend time with my host mother. From there, I’ll travel up north to Aomori for a friend’s wedding then back down to Tokyo for an afternoon to meet a Japanese friend. On my way to Kansai, I’ll make a pit stop in Nagoya for two days and finish my holiday in Osaka.

I am so excited and cannot wait to see new places, eat real Japanese food, catch up with old friends, go shopping and just celebrate the end of five years at university.

I’m currently in Hong Kong Airport awaiting my flight to Narita Airport, Tokyo. The stop over was five hours but it surprisingly went past quite quickly. There are always things to do when you have free WiFi!

Here’s the view from where I’m sitting.

About Brendan

Journalist
This entry was posted in Travel and sightseeing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment