Returning to Sydney: stopping over at Hong Kong Airport

February 17 2012 – the day I have been dreading. Today was an adrenaline-filled day of last minute packing, sending off boxes at the post office and cleaning up.

I caught a 6PM plane from Kansai International Airport to Hong Kong. I am currently writing this entry from Hong Kong International Airport.

I actually had my first ‘reverse culture shock’ after getting off the plane. When I showed my boarding pass to a female airport staff member, I was shocked at her rudeness. She didn’t even smile or say thank you or sorry like the Japanese counterparts.

That continued when I had go through bag checking. The woman (what is up with these Chinese woman?) who served me was really cold especially when she made (not asked) me to open my bag due to some unknown issue with my portable hard drive. In Japan, there would be a lot of ‘Sumimasen’, ‘Gomenasai’ being said. It was a reminder that Chinese people are much ruder and louder than the Japanese. I much prefer the Japanese way. I never feel like I’ve done something wrong.

I did enjoy eating real Chinese food again for a late supper before my flight. 🙂

Delicious noodles

Now I need to board for my flight to Sydney. See you on the other side!

About Brendan

Journalist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Returning to Sydney: stopping over at Hong Kong Airport

  1. Tish says:

    The airport staff people sure sound mean. Wanted to say I enjoyed your blog about your trip and glad you were able to get some delicious noodles.

Leave a comment